A linux daw in a pen drive…

This has been one of my hobbies lately:

A pen drive with linux installed prepared to run vst stuff. Some stuff works great, some stuff not so great and some stuff does not work at all. I went with debian because it’s much less bloated than ubuntu.

So all I have to do is to plug it to any computer that supports usb boot and pray. :hihi:

I made some scripts to automatically download and install the latest versions of the common stuff (wine, jackdmp, kernels, alsa drivers, etc), so basically everytime I want to try some new stuff I just click a button and enter the new version of what I want to set up.

While its not intended to be a replacement for my daw, who knows, it may save the day one day… At least my onboard realtek HD soundcard works better on this.

~ by J on February 14, 2009.

4 Responses to “A linux daw in a pen drive…”

  1. You would not like to share it by hazard?

    please …

    ( Excuse my English, I am French ^^)

  2. start Your own distro๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Great idea… I’ve been thinking about the same thing for a few time, but I didn’t take the time to do it. Also, another solution (instead of “WINEing” the whole thing), could be using a light Linux, like MINT of Puppy, with just the basic drivers, and running VMware or VirtualBox with Windows inside on top of it all. That would, of course, need a decent amount of total RAM (say… 4Gb) but you could get a much better compatibility…
    ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
